this is true music very awesome

Velociriot!

When I was seven, my mom gave me her old copy of Spice, the first album by the Spice Girls. I had been too young to realize what that album had meant to the world and, more specifically, to girls. But as I grew up and as I became more aware of pop culture and media representations of girls, I found myself admiring the album on a whole different level than from when I was first given it. There is something so empowering about watching confident, talented ladies preach self-love and independence. In a world that is very much still stuck in the idea that a girl is only as good as the man she’s with, these groups are a necessary counterpoint.

Following the Spice Girls, though, there seemed to be a lull in girl power pop music. The mid-to-late-90s were a great time for this movement. We had groups…

View original post 1,120 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

